Eligible Countries for DV 2015

The United States Department of State has announced the specifications for the upcoming Diversity Visa Lottery and instructions for registration have begun.

The State Department is the U.S. equivalent of a department of foreign affairs for many other countries and is the agency responsible for the issuance of immigration visas and the Green Card Lottery in the United States.

The registration period for the DV 2015 begins at noon (Eastern Standard Time) on October 1, 2013 and ends at noon on November 2, 2013. All applications must be submitted during this time for the registration to be valid.

Only nationals of certain countries may be eligible for the Green Card Lottery. Below is a description of the eligible and ineligible countries of all major world regions.

Potential applicants not from one of the eligible countries may claim their spouse’s country of origin or one of their parents’ countries of origin for chargeability. This is another way to become eligible.

African Eligibility

Nigeria is the only country ineligible from the continent of Africa. There are some specific instructions for those who were born in Israel, Jordan, Syria, Egypt, the Gaza Strip, the West Bank and the Golan Heights.

Nigeria is the newest addition to the list of ineligible countries for the Green Card Lottery.

Asian Eligibility

Below are the countries named as ineligible for the DV 2015:

  • Bangladesh
  • China
  • India
  • Pakistan
  • South Korea
  • Philippines
  • Vietnam

However, Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan do remain eligible even though they are technically part of China. Only mainland China remains ineligible.

European Eligibility

The only ineligible nation in the Green Card Lottery from Europe is the United Kingdom.

Dependent territories such as Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, the Pitcairn Islands, St. Helena and Turks and Caicos Islands are also considered ineligible for DV 2015.

North Ireland and Macau, both considered territories of the UK are eligible for the Green Card Lottery.

North American Eligibility

The Bahamas is the only nation located in North America that is eligible for the Green Card Lottery. Mexican and Canadian nationals are not eligible for the lottery.

Oceanic Eligibility

Oceania is the region of the world composed of the island-nations of the Pacific Ocean and also includes Australia. All nations located in Oceania are considered eligible for the Green Card Lottery.

South American Eligibility

The South American region includes South America, Central America and the Caribbean. Below are the countries considered ineligible for the Green Card Lottery in this region:

  • Brazil
  • Colombia
  • The Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Peru

Registration in October

Eligible registrants are urged to apply for the Green Card Lottery as soon as they can when the program begins on October 1, 2013 at noon.

Registration applications will no longer be accepted at the end of the registration period at noon on November 2, 2013.

Recent political events in the U.S. may bring an end to the Diversity Visa Lottery. Potential applicants are urged to register this year for what may turn out to be the last year of the lottery.